Information on the High Court


The High Court of Justice (also known as the High Court of England and Wales and sometimes abbreviated by EWHC) is one of the senior courts of England and Wales.

The High Court is based at the Royal Courts of Justice in central London but has District Registries all across England and Wales. The High Court deals at first instance with all high value and high importance cases, and it also has supervisory jurisdiction over subordinate courts and tribunals.

The High Court deals with civil matters and has three main divisions:

  • The Queen's Bench Division
  • The Chancery Division
  • The Family Division.

In this section we set out the basics of the High Court. If you are making or defending a claim in the High Court it is highly advised to seek legal advice and representation.

If you are seeking expert legal advice, or if you would like to be represented in court, Contact Law has over 5,000 solicitors throughout the UK that we can put you in touch with directly. So, if you are looking for expert legal advice, please call us on 0800 1777 162 and let our experienced case handlers match you to the right solicitor for your needs.

Quick enquiry form
Area of law:

More information:

Contact Law supports the endeavours of STAE and commends all the work they are undertaking to assist in the plight of the Asian Elephant


We use cookies on the Contact Law site to help us improve it.

If you would like to allow our cookies, please click 'Continue' or carry on browsing. For more information on cookies and how to change your settings, click 'More info'.